Recipe: Tight Jeans and Cracker Candy

cracker-candy

Well, now I have done it.  Believe it or not with all the baking I do, I am very disciplined and do not eat very much of it.  After spending all of those years confined to a bed in a body cast, I have no interest what-so-ever in losing my hard fought battle to regain my mobility only to lose it to obesity.

My weight actually remained remarkably stable for the year plus that I was in the body cast. After my cancer diagnosis, it dropped a lot during my multiple myeloma chemo. It dropped more after my stem cell transplant.  Before I knew it, I was down almost 30 pounds.

My doctors actually want me to be a bit overweight, because the little extra weight will help strengthen my weakened bones.  So, I actually was told to gain my weight back. That was easy!  And, very enjoyable!  After rapid success to that project was achieved, I then stabilized my weight at my goal.  Hurrah!!

Then it was discovered that I was getting too much thyroid hormone and my doctor greatly decreased my Synthyroid dose. Now as a woman who had thyroid cancer over twenty-five years ago, I am used to the ups and downs of weight management without a properly functioning endocrine system.  When you are getting too much…your weight drops. Too little and well you can put on pounds dreaming about celery.

This is what happened to me.  After the doctor dropped my dose down…BOOM….15 pounds in just three weeks…counting calories…less than 1500 per day….eating small portions and monitoring sugar consumption.  My usual response to this scenario is to increase exercise.  Which I cannot do anymore because of my badly damaged back from all of the compression fractures in my spine from when I had multiple myeloma.

Now, I am a woman who has proudly worn the same size jeans since college.  At age 57, after two children, multiple bouts with cancer and losing my thyroid gland, I consider this next to miraculous. Unfortunately my jeans have recently grown tight….very tight.

Nothing inspires action so much as a need for action. So…less calories…smaller portions….more walking. My efforts were just beginning to produce additional fabric in the seat of my pants when tragedy struck.   I tried a new recipe yesterday.

Cracker candy is completely addicting.  I have tasted it four times this morning. I rarely ever have seconds of even cookies and if I do…I count the calories.  In the interest of self-preservation I took immediate action to mitigate this crisis. I gave quite a bit of this candy to to my neighbor…she took more.  I tried to force feed it to my husband…he did his best, but there is still some left. It has chocolate in it so I can’t feed it to the dogs, however enthusiastic they are to help me out with culinary overage challenges. So now it is in the freezer out of sight, but oh so not out of mind.

Since this is a holiday week.  It is a universal truth that all foods are calorie free.  So, in the interest of providing guilt-free temptation to others…I present the recipe for Cracker Candy.

Cracker candy is so simple and quick to make.  Its salty cracker base is topped with buttery toffee and dark chocolate.  Then garnished with either chopped nuts or in my case due to my nut allergy…colorful sprinkles. This homemade candy is a  great snack treat to have in a bowl for your guests over the holidays.

I bet nobody will be able to eat just one piece or fit into their jeans come next Monday.

Cracker Candy

Line a cookie sheet that has sides with tin foil.  Spray the tin foil with oil.

cracker-crust

Using a sleeve of saltine crackers, place them in the bottom of the cookie sheet.  This will be your crust.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium-sized sauce pan over medium heat melt 1 cup of butter.  Add in 1 cup, plus  2 Tablespoons brown sugar.   Stir until combined.  Boil for three minutes.  Do not scorch!

cracker-caramel

Pour over the crackers and spread out evenly.  Put into the oven for five minutes.

Remove from the oven.  Sprinkle with a bag of dark or semi-sweet chocolate chips.  Return to the oven for just one minute to let the chocolate melt.  Spread the chocolate evenly over the candy.

cracker-choc

Garnish with nuts or sprinkles.

Put into the freezer for 30 minutes until set and cold.  Break into pieces and serve.

 

 

 

One thought on “Recipe: Tight Jeans and Cracker Candy

Leave a Reply

