Recipe: Garlic Butter and Chicken La Blanche Pizza and my best pizza dough ever!

cheese-garlic-bread-finished

For the past several months I have been trying many, many, many pizza dough recipes.  I have tried those that take more yeast. I have tried those that take less yeast.  Have used ones that have olive in them and those that do not.  I even tried one where I had to let the dough rest for three days before it would be a ready base for the pizza toppings of my choice.  None of these recipes achieved the type of pizza crust that I was seeking.

I wanted a thin crust that was crispy on the bottom with edges that were chewy with large air holes.  Alas!  I have finally found my perfect pizza crust recipe.  To make sure that this crust recipe is repeatable…I have repeated it several times and it consistently produces a pizzeria type crust at home.  What is more amazing…it is the easiest recipe to make that I tried.

So, in the interest of having my newfound favorite pizza crust recipe win the ultimate seal of approval, I made La Blanche Pizza for my parent’s visit yesterday.  Not only did my parents really enjoy the pizza, dad especially remarked that the pizza crust was the best he’d had.

While my husband does not think it is fair to call anything that does not include tomato sauce as pizza, even he thinks La Blanche Pizza is just delicious.  It is made with garlic butter, onions, chicken and topped with mozzarella cheese.

So without further adieu, I present the recipes for Pat’s Pizza Crust and La Blanche Pizza

Pat’s Pizza Crust

In a medium-sized mixing bowl combine 3 cups of flour, 1/2 teaspoon of active dry yeast, 2 teaspoons of Kosher salt. (If you use table salt only use 1-1/2 teaspoons.)  Mix until dry ingredients are combined.  Add 1-1/2 cups of lukewarm water. Stir with a large spoon until combined.  Dough will be very sticky.

Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and let it rise in warm place for 6-8 hours.  This means you can mix it up before work and it will be ready to go when you get home.

When you are ready to make your pizza, spray a large cookie sheet or pizza pan with cooking spray.  Thinly coat the bottom of the cookie sheet with corn flour.  Dust the top of the dough with some white flour and very gently remove from the bowl, by tipping the very soft dough onto the cookie sheet.

Very gently with your finger tips spread the dough out. This dough is your friend, gentleness is the key…do not punish it. Try not to squish out all of the air bubbles, however most will return when it bakes.  If the dough begins feels stiff, let it rest for several minutes, then finish.

Let the dough rest for about 15 minutes, before adding desired toppings.  Bake in a preheated 450 degree oven for about 20 minutes or until cheese and crust are nicely browned.

La Blanch Pizza

I like to use this recipe when I have leftover baked chicken or turkey.

2 fully-cooked chicken breasts cut into bite-sized pieces
1 medium-sized onion sliced into very thin slices. (Cut slices in half so they are moon shaped and separate.)
1/3 cup butter, melted
2 cloves of fresh garlic, minced
dash of salt
1-1/2 cups of Mozzarella cheese

In a small saute pan melt the butter.  Add the garlic and salt.  Cook for about 5-7 minutes on low heat. Do not let the butter brown.  Remove from heat and set aside.

Brush the garlic mixture onto pizza crust.  Top with onions and chicken. (Sometimes I add fresh basil, but then it technically is no longer a white pizza.)  Cover with about 1-1/2 cups of Mozzarella Cheese.

Bake for 20 minutes in an oven that has been preheated to 450 degrees.

Remove when cheese and crust are browned.  Makes one very large pizza.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

