Laney Hays Update, Go Fund Me Page and God’s Recipe for the Seasons of Life

0459c724-e4f8-4c54-976f-4ba97245299e_profile

Chirping crickets always signal that the end of summer is near.  One season ends and a new one begins. Some seasons seem much longer than others. Winter is certainly one of those.  Other seasons, like spring,  flash by in the blink of an eye.

Summer is one of my favorite seasons and I have had a wonderful one, but I have been thinking a lot this week about the ending and beginning of seasons.   It seems to me that just as there are yearly seasons, life, too, has its seasons. At the age 57, I would like to think that even with my diagnosis of Multiple Myeloma, a blood cancer, that I am still in the autumn of my life.  I am definitely not ready for winter yet.

So far the seasons of my life have been long and I thank God for that.

Throughout my life whenever I do not want to face reality, I disappear into artwork or writing.  They are my coping tools and I have done both this week. I have always had this need to make good out of bad, beautiful out of ugly, color out of grey and light out of dark.
This week was one of those weeks when there are just not words good or colors bright enough to make the storm clouds dissipate.

A 34-year-old young woman, who I watched grow up, was one of my son’s close friends, who was a sweet darling that was cognitively delayed, was brutally murdered and my three-year-old great niece Laney Hays’ health took a terrible turn for the worse.

This past Thursday, while waiting to attend Rebecca Drewlo’s wake, I and our entire family spent the day waiting for the bone biopsy results for Laney.  Laney was diagnosed when she was just two-years-old with AML Leukemia .  She has been through so much sickness and pain and just as it seemed she was getting back to being her robust happy trickster self…she relapsed.  After several more rounds of brutal chemotherapy her organs began to fail, then she contracted a horrendous intestinal infection called C-diff.

It was not good news that her family learned on Thursday. Doctors confirmed that there is no more that they can do and she has been put into hospice.

Her family are devoted Christians who know that God is a loving God who promises to never leave us or forsake us. Not during good times and certainly not during the bad.  He is our light in darkness. However, nobody knows the will of God, except God, but his scriptures assure us that all things work towards good.  God has and still does work miracles.  If it is his will, Laney will yet be healed. I pray that her family receives their miracle.

Laney’s seasons of life may still turn out to be long, but if they are short, the impact her young life has had on those that know and love her has been nothing short of awe inspiring.  Her battle with this awful disease will provide doctors and researchers with information and insights on how to better help other children just like her.  I am convinced that future lives will be saved because of the brave battle fought by cancer soldier Laney Hays.

Today I would like to ask all of my followers to assist the Hays family during this difficult time. There is a go-fund-me page set up for this young family to help out with medical expenses.  Please give and if you cannot give, please share this post or just the link at https://www.youcaring.com/laney-hays-607565

When Laney was first diagnosed I wrote her a story called, “Laney the Brave”.   The story’s message about being brave is a good one for both children and adults who daily battle cancer.  Please pray for this brave child and her family.   Thank you.

God’s Seasons of Life Recipe
This Biblical recipe can be found in the book of Ecclesiastes.  

There is a time for everything,
    and a season for every activity under the heavens:

    a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,

    a time to kill and a time to heal,
    a time to tear down and a time to build,

    a time to weep and a time to laugh,
    a time to mourn and a time to dance,

    a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
    a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,

    a time to search and a time to give up,
    a time to keep and a time to throw away,

    a time to tear and a time to mend,
    a time to be silent and a time to speak,

    a time to love and a time to hate,
    a time for war and a time for peace.

He has made everything beautiful in its time. 

 

One thought on “Laney Hays Update, Go Fund Me Page and God’s Recipe for the Seasons of Life

Leave a Reply

