A Cancer Diagnosis: Laney Update…Prayers Please!

Mark 1016Mark 10: 13-15  “People were bringing little children to him in order that he might touch them; and the disciples spoke sternly to them. But when Jesus saw this, he was indignant and said to them, ‘Let the little children come to me; do not stop them; for it is to such as these that the kingdom of God belongs.Truly I tell you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will never enter it.” Mark 10: 16  “And he took them up in his arms, laid his hands on them, and blessed them.”

My three-year-old grandniece Laney’s leukemia has not responded to her chemotherapy treatment. Her bone marrow biopsy on Thursday, brought the horrible news that the cancer had grown and spread. Their options are an experimental treatment or hospice. They are going to start the experimental treatment on Monday.

As this earlier blog explains, my husband and I experienced several pregnancy losses.  However, I do not believe that our loss in anyway compares to the magnitude of what Laney’s parents are going through right now.

I do believe that if anyone understands their anger, pain, grief and fear right now it is God. God knew that the worst pain a human can feel is the loss of their child. That is why he chose his only son to be sacrificed for the forgiveness of our sins. God watched his only child suffer and die on that terrible cross, because he loved us more.

I hope you will all keep Laney and her family in your prayers. I know that they will remain in ours.

John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that he sent his only son, that whoever believes in him will not perish, but have eternal life.”

The Swedish Farmer's Daughter

10917271_928254373872691_2124659348345409111_n

When a doctor tells you or a loved one that they have cancer, even with all of the medical advances in curing many forms of the disease, a person instantly enters the “Valley of the Shadow of Death.”

First of all, as a two-time cancer survivor I am here to tell you… I am here.  I have survived thyroid cancer that had spread to my lymph nodes. That was over twenty-five years ago when I had just turned thirty years old and had two small children. Currently, I have been cancer free from multiple myeloma for over 18 months.  While I am in remission now, I know that the cancer I have is not curable, but is treatable.  Without further medical advances, someday it will come back and I will have to go through treatment all over again.

I am not looking forward to that, but even with my cancer diagnosis I…

View original post 891 more words

Leave a Reply

