Thor’s Stories: Morton the Squirrel and the Great Chicken Race.

I was looking back over my blog today, and stopped to read the first story I wrote for my grandson about Thor the adventurous boy. I wrote these stories two years ago when I was very sick and crippled during my fight with Multiple Myeloma cancer. I could only sit up for less than a half hour at a time due to the pain from the fractures in my spine. After reading the blog it is clear to me that I will need to edit the rest of the stories as there are some rough spots, but when I think of how I wrote them that summer so that my grandson would have something to remember me by, should I die from either the cancer or the stem cell transplant…I guess some typos aren’t the worst thing in life. I plan to edit all of them and reblog them when finished. I hope you enjoy, “Morton the Squirrel.”

The Swedish Farmer's Daughter

Was684554 Morton the Squirrel

Author’s note:
This series of children’s stories are about an eight-year-old boy named Thor.  Thor’s backyard is his jungle and contains a  tree fort, a large dense undergrowth of plants the humans call a garden, two ferocious cats, a dog with magical eyes who thinks he’s an attack wolf, and six chickens…two with bad attitudes.  Each day Thor enters this primeval wild world and with ordinary household products and quick thinking saves his pets and family from their jungle adversaries. 

Morton the Squirrel and the Great Chicken Race

It was a warm Tuesday afternoon, when Thor becomes distracted from his Minecraft video game by a loud noise his backyard. Tossing down his controller, he raced to the bathroom window for a good look into his backyard…known as the jungle. He carefully scans heavy underbrush and trees with his trusty binoculars. He first checks out the tree fort…it passes inspection. Then, he checks on Rex his dog…

View original post 1,110 more words

Leave a Reply

