Recipe: Good Neighbors, Great Rhubarb Cheesecake

My neighborhood is one of the best in the world.  We have all lived together on this street for so many years that we have seen one generation grow up and move away and now enjoy seeing each other’s grandchildren.  The really nice thing about knowing all of your neighbors is we have become like a big family and all take care of each other.

I cannot thank my neighbors enough for their help when I was so sick.  Whether it was Susie coming over to stay with me, when I couldn’t care for myself or be home alone, for one day every week so that my husband could get to work or all of the other neighbors who brought meals, well-wishes and offered to help anyway they could–we felt loved. Their kindness is only eclipsed by our gratitude.

My neighbor Don, is so very glad that have recovered my health enough to be back in the kitchen and able to bake.  He and his wife have been very strong supporters of mine throughout my long battle with cancer.  On occasion though, he would point out how much he missed my baking…like my home baked cookies and the desserts I’d bring over during halftime of Vikings football games.

Neighbor Don likes rhubarb desserts.  I have made a rhubarb crisp and pie already for my husband and him.  So,  when I told him I just found a recipe for rhubarb cheesecake, well, he indicated he could not imagine anything tastier.  He was right!

I made this recipe last night.  This dessert is easy to put together and is  very, very delicious!   I hope you take the time to bake and enjoy this recipe for rhubarb cheesecake.

As soon as neighbor Don gets home from work, I will be taking over several pieces for him and his wonderful wife Jackie.  Hopefully he will share.

Rhubarb Cheesecake

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

Crust:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup white sugar
1/2 cup of butter (softened)

In medium-sized bowl combine flour, sugar and butter.  Mix until crumbly.  Press into the bottom of an 8-inch spring form pan.  Set aside. (A 9-inch spring form pan can also be used, by just reducing the final cheese cake baking time.) 

Rhubarb Filling:
3 cups rhubarb (finely chopped)
1/2 cup white sugar
1 Tablespoon all-purpose flour

In a medium-sized bowl toss together rhubarb, sugar and flour.  Spread rhubarb mixture evenly over the crust. Bake for 20 minutes.  Remove from oven and set aside.

*  Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees. *

Cheesecake Filling:
2-eight ounce packages of cream cheese (softened)
1/2 cup white sugar
2 eggs

In a medium-sized bowl, with an electric hand mixer beat cream cheese and sugar together until creamy smooth.  Beat in eggs, one at a time, until completely combined.

Pour over hot rhubarb in pan.

Return to the oven and bake for about 45-50 minutes until the filling is set.  (Depending on your oven, this could take more or less time.  I baked mine for almost 60 minutes until a toothpick inserted in center came out clean. ) 

Topping:
1 cup sour cream
2 tablespoons white sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a small bowl combine sour cream, sugar and vanilla extract. Stir until smooth. Spread on top of the cheesecake while the cake is still hot.

Cool completely, then refrigerate for several hours or overnight.

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Good Neighbors, Great Rhubarb Cheesecake

  1. I am definitely going to try this. Oh, my how we love rhubarb…in pies and cakes. I need to have a patch of my own…a friend has been giving it to me.

    Like

    1. Mary, this was really good. Dad, brought me some rhubarb so I decided to try this recipe. I froze a big bag of rhubarb for later. He has a bunch of the stuff on the farm.

      Like

Leave a Reply

