Puppy vs Politician Training

I am thoroughly enjoying having a puppy in my house.  Oliver is a long-haired German Shepherd puppy.  He is super soft and fluffy and looks like a small bear cub.

Oliver at seven weeks1
Oliver at 10 weeks

Oliver weighted 43 pounds at 14 weeks old and his feet are already bigger than those of our nine-year-old white, 110 pound, German Shepherd Truman.

puppy foot14 week puppy foot next to my hand

Oliver loves water, mud and Truman.
13082613_1179353305429462_1651752573753695040_n

All things considered, this puppy is the best thing that has happened in our home in a very long time.  Our home is filled with constant action and antics. Puppies, like small children, are a lot of work and demand a lot of attention, but their exuberance for life and enjoyment of every new sight, sound and taste is contagious to those of us who long ago became a bit jaded and tired. It fills me with joy to just watch him.  Oliver is a cute little clown.

image
Lots of puppy cuteness

See many cute videos of Oliver and Truman on my YouTube channel including this video of him digging in my garden and watching airplanes.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMr8PREto1A 

Oh, there are some challenges to puppy raising.  Especially since I cannot bend or lift over 10 pounds due to my back injuries from my cancer.  Also, I am on blood-thinners as apart of my cancer chemo maintenance program and the puppy nipping phase has left me with enough bruises on my arms and legs to give my oncologist a stroke.

Then, too, I am tired from being awakened with the dawn, literally at 5:30 a.m., by either whining or a sharp bark announcing that my attention is desperately and immediately required. The rest of my day is filled with non-stop action and chaos created by a puppy making bad decisions. Broken only by short periods of time when the puppy needs a nap.

Then, too, I have acquired a few new skills such as disposing of lots of shredded paper and cleaning up puppy poo. Since, I cannot reach the floor, I have mastered using a long handled grabber tool. Also, I have learned how prevent puppy biting and barking by administering a bit of bitter lemon juice onto the offender’s tongue—yes, this really works!   And, I have also perfected cleaning up dirt left by the puppy by using a spray bottle, a large towel and my foot.

There also have been changes to my usually eloquent language usage. For a woman with excellent verbal and written communications skills, who had a very successful career in the field of communications writing press releases, talking points, editorials, columns and constituent responses for many politicians, I now find myself communicating using one- word verbs such as: off, down, sit, stay, come and when nothing else works–“treats”.  In addition to issuing single syllable orders, there are the essential commands of no bite, no bark and play nice!

Now that I think about it there is not much difference between working for politicians and training a puppy….just saying.

 

 

Leave a Reply

