Protect Your Neighbors–Serve Pie

Just the other day, I read on Facebook, so it must be true, that you are less likely to be kidnapped if you are overweight. Preventing becoming a crime victim may be as simple as eating more pie. So, when my friend Kate recently contacted me to request a copy of my Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Pie recipe, I decided that in the interest of decreasing societal victimization and promoting the only superfood I wholeheartedly recommend—chocolate—I will share the recipe.

Every day on social media there is a new superfood that boasts unbelievable healing powers. I have read many articles on a variety of superfoods and have had three personal observations.

1. The mere scent of coconut oil depresses me as it is a reminder that winter is on the way here in Minnesota and there are warm beaches somewhere.

2. If cinnamon could heal, I would be super human seeing as how I was raised on cinnamon topped Swedish rice pudding and Snickerdoodle cookies.

3. Chocolate. A person just cannot go wrong with the stuff. Just thinking about it makes me happy and brings back many fond memories of chocolate chip cookie baking with my grandmother, mother and children.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Pie has a texture similar to pecan pie. It is fantastic served warm and topped with vanilla ice cream on a cold Minnesota day.  Enjoy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Pie
Preheat Oven to 325 degrees.

1 unbaked 9 inch deep-dish pie crust. (If you use a frozen pie crust thaw it first, then bake with a cookie sheet under the aluminum pie tin.)
2 large eggs
½ cup all-purpose flour
½ cup granulated sugar
½ cup packed brown sugar
¾ cup butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla
¼ teaspoon salt
I ½ cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts (if desired)
In a large mixing bowl beat eggs with electric mixer until foamy. Slowly beat in flour, sugars, salt and vanilla. Mix in soft butter. Add chocolate chips and nuts and mix thoroughly. Spoon batter into the pie unbaked pie crust.

Bake for 55 to 60 minutes or until a knife inserted into the middle of the pie comes out clean. (There will be melted chocolate on your knife.)

One thought on “Protect Your Neighbors–Serve Pie

Leave a Reply

