Saying Goodbye to 2014

It’s time to say goodbye 2014 and reflect on the year past. For me 2014 was definitely better that 2013. In 2013, I was completely bedridden with over six back fractures that my doctors weren’t sure how to cure. This New Year’s Eve, I have the correct diagnosis of multiple myeloma, a cancer of the bone marrow and am getting world class treatment.

Life is a funny thing.  Nobody wants a cancer diagnosis, but, even with all of the pain and illness I have had this past year, life is good and I am blessed. I have found that during the hardest times that we endure those are the times when we are closest to God.

During this past year that included of months of chemo, and misery of the stem cell transplant, I felt the love of Jesus through the care, concern and prayers of others…sometimes strangers.  I will never forget the nursing staff praying with me right before my transplant. More than anything else, that prayer calmed my fears.  I want to take this opportunity to thank all of my doctors, nurses, family, and care givers for their support and kindness. I wouldn’t have made it this far without you.

My faith in God has grown a lot these past two years.  I now know that no matter what, he will never leave me or forsake me.  God is no good time Charlie.  He’s there in the good and bad times. I know that he’s real and that he still has a use for me in this world.  I have felt his presence in my sickroom and it gave me hope, peace, courage and strength to go on when it would have been so easy to quit.  Yes, sometimes I wanted to give up.

I have learned that faith is an act of the heart not of the head. It’s about the soul…our spirit, not about things of this earth. I have felt the definite separation between the body and the soul.

I have been told that there is no God, because the scientific evidence isn’t there. Science will never prove or disprove God. He was here before the big bang.  Science theories have changed so many times throughout history and will continue to change. I am sure that many past cultures have thought they were as advanced and intellectual as our society does today.  Science evolves, God doe not….he is the same today, tomorrow and forever.  He’s somebody bigger than you or me.

As A Christian, I know that Jesus loves each and everyone of us and only asks that we let him into our hearts. We are saved by his grace and mercy, not our acts.  I think Jesus said it best, when he said he did not come to condemn the world but to save it.  He loves us so very much and he stays by our sides to give us courage during those hard times of life in this world in which we will all take our turn.

I am looking forward to 2015. There may be more health hurdles to clear in my future, but my life, as it always has been, is in God’s hands. No matter what comes, it will be alright.

May the God of hope, protect you and bring you joy in 2015!

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

