Maraschino Cherry Bon Bon Cookies

Two years ago,  I went to lift the turkey out of the refrigerator and felt my spine break. For the past two years I have been fighting multiple broken bones in my spine due to cancer.  I have been in a body cast for a year, a back brace for another year and not able to lift, bend or twist.  I have been pretty much bedridden for much of the time.

My cancer treatment is going great and yesterday I had two big firsts.  For the first time in two years I woke up with no back pain and I started Cancer Rehab.  At cancer rehab the therapist helped me work out muscles that have not been used in ages.  The best part of yesterday was she let me stir and told me I can now stir cookie dough…can’t lift a cookie sheet in or out of the oven yet, but I can start the baking process again.  This filled me with joy!

Next  Monday, my friend Mary is coming over and helping me make cookies.  Then in a week or so, another friend Karen is going to help me bake holiday favorites.

This chocolate cookie recipe is my son’s holiday favorite. He loves chocolate covered cherries and this cookie satisfies that craving.

Maraschino Cherry Bon Bon Cookies
Mix together thoroughly:
½ cup soft butter
¾ cup sifted powdered sugar
1 Tablespoon vanilla
1 egg
3 Tablespoons cocoa
1 Tablespoon oil

Mix in with hand:
1 ½ cups sifted all-purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon salt

Drain a bottle of maraschino cherries. Pat cherries dry with a paper towel.

Wrap a tablespoon of dough around a cherry until the cherry is completely covered and you have a perfectly round ball of dough.

Place cookies one inch apart on a greased baking sheet.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 12 to 15 minutes or until set, and tops of cookies look dry, but not browned.

Remove cookies from cookie sheet and cool on a rack. When cool frost with chocolate icing and decorate with sprinkles, shaved chocolate or coconut.

Chocolate Icing:
1 stick of margarine
4 Tablespoons cocoa
½ bag of powdered sugar
6 Tablespoons of cream.

In a saucepan bring margarine, milk and cocoa to a boil. Remove from heat and add enough powdered sugar to make icing desired consistency. The icing should be thin enough to dip the cookie into the icing to coat the entire cookie.

This recipe makes about 2 dozen cookies.

One thought on “Maraschino Cherry Bon Bon Cookies

  1. Reblogged this on The Swedish Farmer's Daughter and commented:

    My baby boy will turn 36 this week, which reminded me that these are his favorite holiday cookies. After reading the blog I wrote four years ago, it is amazing to me how much better my life is now. I can walk walker free, and without cane for short distances, I can not only stir cookie dough, but can lift a cookie sheet in and out of the oven. And, I am still cancer free. I have been greatly blessed in my life by a kind and loving God.

    After reading where my life was just two short years ago…all I can think to say is I am so very thankful!

    This holiday season will the first in five years where I should be able to do my Thanksgiving and Christmas cookie baking all by myself. I am looking forward to making cookie trays as gifts for my many friends and sharing my many recipes with you all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

