Swedish Creme Wafer Cookies

My freshman year of college I spent the winter living with my Great Aunt Doris in Litchfield, MN. I had a wonderful time. My Aunt Doris, like many of my aunties, was known for her excellent baking skills which she practiced regularly. Almost every day, when I returned from my long commute to Willmar Community College there would be some type of baked treat to sample.

It was about Christmastime when I returned home to find a plate of white, flakey, almond cookies. They were a small very delicate sandwich cookie cut into the shape of a diamond put together with light blue almond flavored butter filling. They had been coated with white superfine sugar before being baked and absolutely melted in your mouth.

When I asked her what they were she told me they were a very old family recipe called “Swedish Crème Wafers.” They have always been a holiday tradition at my home ever since.

Swedish Crème Wafers
In a medium-sized mixing bowl mix together into a stiff dough:
1 cup soft butter
1/3 cup thick cream
2 cups sifted all-purpose flour

Form dough into a ball, cover with plastic wrap and chill for a least one hour.

On a lightly floured board roll chilled dough out until 1/8 inches thick. Cut into 1½ in cookies in round or diamond shapes. Transfer with spatula onto waxed paper heavily sprinkled with sugar turning the cookies to coat both sides.

Place cookies on an ungreased baking sheet. Prick each cookie with a fork in about four places. Bake in a 350 degree oven until slightly puffy but not brown.

Cool cookies completely. Put two cooled cookies together with a creamy butter filling.

Almond Flavored Creamy Butter Filling:
Blend together ¼ cup soft butter, 3/4 cup sifted confectioners’ sugar, two tablespoons heavy cream and 1 teaspoon almond extract. If filling is too thick add more cream, if too thin add more sugar. Tint a color with a few drops of food coloring.

Leave a Reply

