The Stem Cell Transplant Process Begins Tomorrow

I was told today at the University of Minnesota’s Bone Marrow Transplant that tomorrow would be the day that I start my pre-transplant chemo.  This is going to be a lot stronger chem than what I have had for the past five months. There will be more side effects and I will lose my hair.

As I sat in the waiting room this morning, terrified of what my future holds, I summoned the courage to ask a couple of people wearing face masks what their transplant process was like.They all had, had different experiences, but were so very quick to reassure me that it would be all right.

As it happened the lady sitting next to me was quiet through the whole conversation until a explained that my transplant was for multiple myeloma.  She smiled at me and said, “I have had that for the past 14 years.”  She looked so healthy and she said she has been so very healthy since her transplant.  She explained that all her broken bones in her back healed and she was doing great.  However she was four inches shorter.

There are times when you know that God is walking with you and there are times when he carries you.  This morning he carried me into that waiting room and delivered me from my fears.  I walked with him out of the waiting room.

Ever since then I have had this song stuck in my head and have been whistling it.  It is the old hymn, “He Leadeth Me.”  I printed out the words to take with me to the hospital tomorrow.

He Leadeth Me

1. He leadeth me, O blessed thought!
O words with heav’nly comfort fraught!
Whate’er I do, where’er I be
Still ’tis God’s hand that leadeth me
.
o Refrain:
He leadeth me, He leadeth me,
By His own hand He leadeth me;
His faithful foll’wer I would be,
For by His hand He leadeth me.

2. Sometimes ’mid scenes of deepest gloom,
Sometimes where Eden’s bowers bloom,
By waters still, o’er troubled sea,
Still ’tis His hand that leadeth me.

3. Lord, I would place my hand in Thine,
Nor ever murmur nor repine;
Content, whatever lot I see,
Since ’tis my God that leadeth me.

4. And when my task on earth is done,
When by Thy grace the vict’ry’s won,
E’en death’s cold wave I will not flee,
Since God through Jordan leadeth me.

One thought on “The Stem Cell Transplant Process Begins Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

