About Patricia Turgeon

Due to injuries my dad sustained during Military Service, I grew up spending summers on the family farm in Minnesota, and winters near Tucson, Arizona. In both environments, I discovered her gifts of creative writing and art – water colors, oils and other mediums. My memories of growing up Grove City, Minnesota and Tucson, Arizona each have remained with me and my writing and art reflect the values, beauty, images and challenges of those experiences.

I am currently disabled from multiple compression fractures in my spine and am battling Multiple Myeloma, a blood cancer. This is my second bout with cancer.  I will soon have a stem cell transplant to treat this disease. My first bout was with thyroid cancer when my daughter Aurora was only 14 months old.

As part of my continuing physical therapy, I have painted scenes from my days on the farm and her Southwestern surroundings – some of my favorites being roosters and desert scenes with the ever-changing desert the mountains and rock formations, the skies, the desert floor, beautiful cacti, and, of course, the elusive Roadrunner.  Prints of these images are available for sale at: http://www.turgeonart.com.

During the 1980’s, my paintings were exhibited by the Minnesota Artist Association in juried shows in the Duluth Depot Museum, Dutluth, MN and the Landmark Center in St. Paul. I have also done private commissions, corporate commissions, and my paintings are displayed in various churches as far away as Bethlehem.

I have authored and illustrated several children’s books, and published the e-book “Golden, the Goose. During my first bout with cancer I wrote and illustrated children’s stories for my young daughter.  She, unlike my son, would have been too young to remember me and I wanted her to “know” her mother. This stories are fantasy with a gentle moral “mom” message.  More recently, I  co-authored “More Than I Ever Dreamed, A Biography of Robert E. Hansen” a Minnesota WWII veteran. Both of these works are available on Amazon.com.

I have spent the past thirteen years working in the fields of project management and communications – the last five years as Press Secretary for the Minnesota Secretary of State and Assistant Communications Director. During my state service I was the project manager for the State of Minnesota World War II Memorial Dedication, which hosted an estimated 27,000 World War II Veterans, their families and friends.

 

Leave a Reply

